Partly cloudy

Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Monday June 25 2018 09:18 AM IST

Ronaldo and Messi lead the way on Ballon d'Or shortlist

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

Ronaldo and Messi lead the way on Ballon d'Or shortlist Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Harry Kane

Cristiano Ronaldo is the favorite to retain the Ballon d'Or trophy as his Real Madrid side dominated the 30-man shortlist announced by France Football on Monday. The 32-year-old, who helped Real win the Champions League and La Liga last season, is one of seven Real players on the list - the most from any team.

Should the Portugal forward triumph, he will equal the record of his great rival and five-times winner Lionel Messi of Barcelona, who is also nominated.

The only other Barca player in the running is Luis Suarez, while Paris St Germain's Neymar and Edinson Cavani are also included on the shortlist.

England striker Harry Kane is among seven Premier League players nominated, alongside Liverpool's Philippe Coutinho and Sadio Mane, Manchester United's David de Gea, Chelsea's N'Golo Kante and Eden Hazard, and Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne.

Kylian Mbappe, 18, is the youngest player on the list following his close season move to PSG from Monaco.

The Ballon d'Or, which merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year award from 2010-15 to create the FIFA Ballon d'Or, returned to France Football magazine this year having been established in 1956.

A panel of journalists picks the winner.


Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Isco (Real Madrid)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Neymar (PSG)

Edinson Cavani (PSG)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Paulo Dybala (Juventus)

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)

David de Gea (Man Utd)

Edin Dzeko (Roma)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Dries Mertens (Napoli)

Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Radamel Falcao (Monaco)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)

Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan)

Read more Sports news

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Malayala Manorama. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert