ICC super over rule tweaks | Explainer

Humdinger
England were declared winners on superior boundary count after the World Cup final against New Zealand ended in a tie even after the super over. File photo: AFP
SHARE

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has made changes to the super over rule for its major events following the uproar of the World Cup final in July when England were crowned champions against New Zealand on boundary count.

The thrilling final at Lord's was tied after both teams made 241. Once the super over also ended in a tie with both teams making 15, England were declared winners on superior boundary count.

Super over and rule changes

• A super over is a tie-breaking method used in limited over cricket matches. The method also known as the Eliminator, consisting of one over (six balls) and two wickets for each team.

• Though the runs earned during the super over do not add to a player's score card, it identities the winners of a match which would have otherwise resulted in a tie.

• Super over was introduced in 2008 in Twenty20 format.

• It was adopted in One-Day International (ODI) cricket three years later, in the knockout phase of the 2011 ICC World Cup.

• The 2019 World Cup final was the first ever ODI to be determined by a super over.

• Now the ICC has decided that if teams are tied even after the super over in a final or semifinal, the super over will be repeated until there is a clear winner.

• In group stages, if the super over is tied the match will be tied.

MORE IN CRICKET
SHOW MORE