Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Wednesday June 20 2018 01:14 PM IST

Rajiv Mehrishi to be next CAG of India

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

Sunil Arora appointed Election Commissioner, Anita Karwal named CBSE chairperson

New Delhi: Rajiv Mehrishi to be the next Comptroller and Auditor General of India. He landed the top job just hours after demitting office as the Home secretary and will take over from the incumbent Shashi Kant Sharma when his tenure ends on September 24.  

Former bureaucrat Sunil Arora was appointed Election Commissioner, the law ministry said on Thursday.

After Nasim Zaidi retired as chief election commissioner in July, there was a vacancy in the poll panel.

While Achal Kumar Joti is the CEC, Om Prakash Rawat is the other Election Commissioner.

Arora's appointment will be with effect from the day he assumes charge, the law ministry notification said.

Arora (61) had been the information and broadcasting secretary, and secretary in the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

A 1980 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre, Arora has worked in ministries and departments such as Finance, Textiles and Planning Commission.

He also served as joint secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation during 1999-2002 and CMD, Indian Airlines for five years (two years as additional charge and three years as full charge).

In Rajasthan, besides district postings in Dholpur, Alwar, Nagaur and Jodhpur, he was secretary to the chief minister during 1993-1998 and principal secretary to CM (2005- 2008).

Other appointments

Senior bureaucrat Rajiv Kumar was appointed secretary in the Department of Financial Services (DFS) while Anita Karwal was named CBSE chairperson as part of a major reshuffle effected Thursday.

As many as 17 civil servants were appointed as secretaries and additional secretaries in various central government departments.

Kumar, a 1984 batch IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre, is at present special secretary and establishment officer in the Ministry of Personnel.

The DFS looks after the functioning of banks, financial institutions, insurance companies and the national pension system.

Kumar has spearheaded several reforms in Indian bureaucracy including an online system for recording of the bureaucrats annual performance appraisal reports and 360 degree system to assess suitability of officers for senior- level jobs.

Pradip Kumar Tripathi will be new establishment officer and additional secretary in the Personnel Ministry.

Karwal, a Gujarat-cadre IAS officer, who is additional secretary in the Ministry of Human Resources Development, was named chairperson of Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) in place of Rajesh Kumar Chaturvedi.

Chaturvedi has been appointed as director general of the National Skill Development Agency.

Asha Ram Sihag has been appointed secretary, Department of Heavy Industries. He is at present secretary (Coordination) in Cabinet Secretariat.

Inder Jit Singh has been named secretary (Coordination) in Cabinet Secretariat in place of Sihag. He is at present additional secretary in Commerce Ministry.

N Baijendra Kumar, a 1985 batch IAS officer of Chhattisgarh cadre, has been appointed as chairman and managing director of National Mineral Development Corporation.

He is at present working in his cadre state.

Gujarat-cadre IAS officer Rameswhar Prasad Gupta will be additional secretary, NITI Aayog. He is at present managing director of National Waqf Development Corporation Ltd (NAWADCO).

"The officer will continue to hold additional charge of the post of MD, NAWADCO until further orders," it said.

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Malayala Manorama. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert