Prasanth's victory: How Vattiyoorkavu voted?

Prasanth's victory: How Vattiyoorkavu voted?
LDF workers celebrate V K Prasanth victory. Photo: Manoj Chemancherry

Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidate V K Prasanth of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) won the Vattiyoorkavu assembly constituency by 14,438 votes.

Prasanth polled 54,782 votes while his nearest opponent United Democratic Front's K Mohankumar of Congress got 40,344 votes. National Democratic Alliance's S Suresh of Bharatiya Janata Party finished third with 27,425 votes.

Prasanth thus threw the biggest surprise as he wrested the seat, considered to be a traditional Congress bastion.

BJP suffered the biggest upset as its vote share dipped drastically. In the 2016 assembly and 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party had finished second in Vattiyoorkavu.

How Vattiyoorkavu voted in 2019

UDF's Congress candidate in Thiruvanathapuram Lok Sabha constituency Shashi Tharoor got 53, 456 in Vattiyoorkavu in 2019. NDA's BJP candidate Kummanam Rajashekharan finished second with 42,877 votes, while LDF's CPI nominee C Divakaran came third with 29,414.

How Vattiyoorkavu voted in 2016

In 2016 assembly election, Congress leader K Muraleedharan had won the seat with 51,322 votes. BJP's Kummanam Rajashekharan finished second with 43,700 votes, while CPI(M)'s TN Seema came third with 40,441 votes.