Kerala government reinstates six DySPs

Kerala government reinstates six DySPs

Thiruvananthapuram: The Kerala government has temporarily reinstated six Deputy Superintendents of Police (DySPs), who were demoted as circle inspectors (CI) over disciplinary actions, for 10 days.

The government temporarily reinstated them after Kerala Administrative Tribunal's interim order. VG Raveendranath, E Sunil Kumar, MK Manoj Kabeer, KS Udayabhanu, S Ashok Kumar and T Anil Kumar have been reinstated as DySPs.

In an unprecedented move last week, DySPs, who were facing disciplinary action, were demoted to CIs apparently as part of the pre-poll exercise by the state government.

The demoted officers had reached their superior posts through temporary promotion.

This was for the first time that the department had recommended for the demotion of such a large number of officers. Till now, those officers who were facing departmental disciplinary action or any other charge were not barred from promotion on the grounds that the Kerala Police Act had not prohibited promotion on the basis of disciplinary action.

However, last month, the state government had nullified the section that stipulated disciplinary action would not affect departmental promotion. This, in turn, led to the reconsideration of the temporary promotions effected earlier.

Read more: Latest Kerala news

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.