Kannur police district to be divided into city, rural

Kerala Police

Kannur: The home department on Wednesday gave nod for the bifurcation of Kannur police district into two – Kannur City and Kannur Rural.

The decision comes after a detailed study, as the district is one of the largest in terms of area and heaviest in terms of law and order situation, an order by the governor read. With this bifurcation, the total number of police districts in Kerala would be 20. The suggestion to divide the police district was given by the state police chief DGP Loknath Behera.

According to the DGP, 12 police stations in Kannur are critically sensitive due to the presence of Maoists. Once the Kannur airport would become fully operational, he anticipates an increase in law and order, security and traffic issues.

Stations under the jurisdiction of Kannur City police district

Kannur Town, Kannur Traffic, Kannur City, Edakkad, Chakkarakkal, Valapattanam, Kannapuram, Azheekkal coastal police station, Mayyil, Kannur Vanitha station, Mattannur station, Mattannur airport station (12 coming under Kannur sub division). Thalassery, Dharmadom, New Mahe, Pinarayi, Panoor, Chockli, Kolavallur, Thalassery coastal, Kuthuparamba, Kannavam and Kadirur (all 11 under Thalassery).

Stations under Kannur Rural police district

Iritty, Ulikkal, Aralam, Karikkottakkari, Pravoor, Kelakam, Muzhakkunnu, Irikkur and Maloor (all 9 under Iritty sub division). Taliparamba, Payangadi, Pariyaram medical college, Payyannur, Peringome, Cherupuzha, Alakode, Kudiyanmala, Sreekandapuram and Payyavoor (all 10 under Taliparamba sub division).

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.