Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Sunday August 19 2018 05:25 AM IST

Thushar Vellappally to go to Rajya Sabha via Uttar Pradesh

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

 Thushar Vellappally to contest Rajya Sabha polls from Uttar Pradesh? Thushar will contest the polls from Uttar Pradesh.

New Delhi: The BJP-led NDA has decided to reward Kerala ally Bharat Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) with a Rajya Sabha seat from Uttar Pradesh. BDJS chairman Thushar Vellappally is expected to file nomination papers from Uttar Pradesh as early as next week, Manorama News reported.

The BJP’s national leadership also took measures to pacify the party’s other regional allies. Leaders of the other constituents in the National Democratic Alliance in Kerala can finally expect some loaves and fishes of office.

Rajan Kannatt, the state secretary of the Kerala Congress P C Thomas faction, will be appointed the chairman of the Marine Corporation. PSP chairman K K Ponnappan has been selected to lead the Fisheries Corporation and BDJS state general secretary Subhash Vasu as Coconut Development Corporation chairman.

Read this story in Malayalam

As many as 14 BDJS leaders have been selected to the director boards of various public sector enterprises.

The BDJS had raised a banner of revolt within the NDA as the party was yet to see any reward for helping out the BJP gather votes in Kerala. SNDP Yogam general secretary Vellappally Natesan even dropped hints of a possible shift to the Left Democratic Front.

The BDJS piled pressure on the BJP by threatening to go alone in the Chengannur assembly by-election if the party was not given the seat to contest. The BJP decided to field its own candidate in the seat nevertheless.

The BDJS may be pacified by the offer of a Rajya Sabha seat.

Jaitley to contest RS polls from UP

Union finance minister Arun Jaitley will contest the Rajya Sabha elections from Uttar Pradesh while petroleum minister Dharmendra Pradhan will do so from Madhya Pradesh, the BJP's central election committee announced on Wednesday.

Jaitley is currently a Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat and Pradhan is a member from Bihar.

The party announced the names of seven union ministers and one general secretary for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls in various states.

The others - apart from Jaitley and Pradhan - will contest from the same states they have been elected from.

Social justice minister Thawarchand Gehlot will contest from Madhya Pradesh, Law minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from Bihar and J P Nadda from Himachal Pradesh.

The other two Union ministers, Parshottam Rupala and Manusukh Mandaviya, will contest from Gujarat. Bhupender Yadav, the party's general secretary, will again contest from Rajasthan.

The terms of all seven leaders end on April 2 and all are set to be elected again.

(With inputs from PTI)

Read more: Latest Kerala news |  

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Malayala Manorama. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert