Pulsating finale to maiden SH Media Cup

Medal ceremony

Kochi: In a riveting final cricket match between Flowers TV and MMTV, the former held their nerves to clinch the first edition of SH Media Cup 2020 held in Kochi on Monday.

It was a one-of-kind tournament held in Kochi with participation from 16 teams representing various media outlets. Sacred Heart College and SH School of Communication in association with Ernakulam Press Club organised the tournament at the Lake View Ground of Sacred Heart College, Thevara. It was organised as part of the Platinum Jubilee celebrations of SH College and Golden Jubilee celebrations of Ernakulam Press Club.

Former Indian player Tinu Yohannan inaugurated the event on Saturday, and thanked the organisers for the invite. "Tournaments such as these give an opportunity for the reviewers of the game to understand what we face on ground; such competition will surely give space for unity in a highly competitive industry," he said.

Speaking to Onmanorama, the former national bowler said, "It is great to see professionals across the media fraternity especially those from print and visual media. I am happy to see cricket bringing them together under one platform. Such tournaments will surely help to create long-lasting relationships. Media is a powerful and responsible field. I hope to see the tournament last many editions."

Jeena Paul, Sports Editor of Manorama News TV, said, "The tournament organised by SH College and Ernakulam Press Club has matched the intensity seen in state-level matches. The matches held have been very competitive, every ball is an event and the conduct of the matches has been truly magnificent. I am lucky to witness players putting their efforts in all aspects of the game, whether it’s batting, bowling or fielding. It's definitely a cricket festival worth remembering."

Actor Jaysurya and Kochi Police Chief IG Vijay Sakhare gave the winner’s trophy to the victorious members of the Flowers TV team. They also received a cash award of Rs 50,000 sponsored by Bank of Baroda.

The runner-up team, MMTV, also received a trophy and cash award worth Rs 30,000 sponsored by DBFS.

Flowers TV scored 102 in 6 overs and MMTV managed 86 runs in their innings.

Media team wins exhibition match

An exhibition match was also held between Kochi City Police Officials team headed by IG Vijay Sakhare and Ernakulam Press Club team headed by journalist and former Kerala Ranji Trophy player K Pradeep.

The media team trumped the police team to win the exhibition match with five balls to spare, chasing 64 runs in six overs.

IG Vijay Sakhare scored the highest for the Police team. Sub-Collector Snehil Kumar was also part of the Police team along with Deputy Commissioner G Poonguzhali IPS, who was the sole women representative in the entire tournament.

Jipson Sikhera spoke on behalf of the Press Club and said the tournament will be conducted next year as well.

Prof Sujith Narayanan of SH School of Communication presided over the function along with Principal Dr Prasant Palakkappilly, Dr. K A Raju, Babu Joseph, and other dignitaries.