Darsana international book fair in Kottayam attracting readers

The book fair, which is underway at Indoor Stadium Nagampadom here, started on November 1 and will continue till November 10. Photo: Vignesh Krishnamurthy

Kottayam: Justice KT Thomas inaugurated the ‘Aksharakoottam’ literary festival held in connection with the ongoing Darsana international book festival. The event was presided over by Sijitha Anil, the president of the Ezhuthukootam. Former director of the MG University School of Journalism Professor Madavana Balakrishna Pillai, poet Viajayaraja Mallika, Ezhuthukootam general secretary Raji P Joy, writers KK Sudhakaran, Vadayar Sunil, Thomas Mathew, Professor Rajeev Aklamon, Dr. PAM Thambi and Dr. George Abraham spoke at the event. The book fair, which is underway at Indoor Stadium Nagampadom here, started on November 1 and will continue till November 10.

Noted writer S Harish inaugurated the seminar on the topic ‘Malayala Sahityavum Cybervalkaranavum’. It was presided over by Dr. Kurias Kumbalakuzhi.

The e – edition of Dr. Jose K Manuel’s works was launched by film maker Joshiy Mathew. Tibetan poet Tenzin Sundya did a recital session of his poems.

Anand Neelakandan

Renowned English novelist Anand Neelakandan would be the chief guest for the debate to be conducted on 8th November at 5pm at the book fair venue. The debate would be moderated by Professor Madavana Balakrishna Pillai.

Visit stalls and win prizes

Book lovers who visit the Darsana international book festival can win exciting prizes. Visit the Malayala Manorama stall to collect the prize coupons. Just fill up these coupons and drop it in the box that is kept in the stall. The 10 lucky winners would win 10 books sponsored by the Darsana cultural centre. You could also avail amazing discounts for selected books at the stall. The first and original edition of O Chandu Menon’s classic Idulekha, reintroduced by Manorama Books is available at the stall.

Lucky winners on Tuesday

Saji K Eapen Muttambalam, VJ Jacob Villoonni, Mathew Thomas Nedumkuzhi, Thomas Jacob Thengana, Smitha K, Krishnanakutty Ayarkunnam, Nithin Sabu Kumarakom, Ajin Kuriakose Thomas Amayannur, KP Rajeev Kidangoor, PP Narayanana Ettumanoor, Chandralekhs Raveendran Manjoor.

The winners should reach the Malayala Manorama stall with documents to prove their identity.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.