Partly cloudy

Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Sunday February 23 2020 05:12 PM IST

Himachal throws a 'red' surprise as CPM wins Theog constituency

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

Rakesh Singha CPM leader Rakesh Singha who won Theog constituency in Himachal Pradesh during a party rally. Photo: CPI (M)/Twitter

New Delhi: The CPM on Monday dedicated its victory in the Theog seat of Himachal Pradesh to the people of the constituency who "reposed faith in the party to protect their rights and work for their interest" in the state assembly.

In a statement, the CPM politburo said the victory of its candidate Rakesh Singha was significant as it came against the background of a highly polarized election between two major parties.

"This victory reflects the faith the people of Theog have reposed in the CPM to protect their rights and work for their interests in the Himachal Pradesh Assembly," the party said.

Singha is one of the most prominent faces of the party in Himachal Pradesh.

He had in 1993 won the election from the Shimla seat and had secured around 10,000 votes while contesting from the Theog seat in the 2012 assembly election.

This is the second time he will be an MLA in the 68-seat HP Assembly.

Read more: Assembly polls in-depth | Best news from Gujarat – Jignesh Mevani wins

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Malayala Manorama. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert