Light Rain, Rain

Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Saturday August 18 2018 08:30 AM IST

Five movies made it to the final round at Kerala state film awards

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

Five movies made it to the final round at Kerala state film awards 'Ottamuri Velicham', 'Aedan', 'Ee. Ma. Yau', 'Take Off ' and 'Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum' competed with each other for the best movie award.

Thiruvananthapuram: Veteran actor Indrans amazed the jury with his incredible performance in the movie Aalorukkam and from the beginning itself the award winning actor was the front runner in the race for the best actor award.

Indrans beat Fahadh Faasil who performed excellently in Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum and Take Off, and Suraj Venjaramoodu who did a good job in Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum and Savari to bag the top honour.

Newcomer Vineetha Koshy was a strong contender for the best actress title, finally losing it to Parvathy for her realistic portrayal of a distressed nurse in Iraq in the movie Take Off.

Vineetha had impressed the jury with her performance in the movie Ottamuri Velicham. Manju Warrier’s performances in the movies C/O Saira Banu and Udaharanam Sujatha were appreciated by the jury, but they didn’t find the portrayal of the roles challenging enough.

Five movies were selected into the final round in the race for the best film award. Ottamuri Velicham, Aedan, Ee. Ma. Yau, Take Off and Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum competed with each other for the best movie award.

Finally Ottamuri Velicham helmed by Rahul Riji Nair bagged the top honor as the jury unanimously voted in favor for it. However, the jury was divided about the choice of Aedan as the second best movie. The slow pace of the movie had irked a few members, but the movie directed by Sanju Surendran was selected as the second best movie as majority of the votes went in favor of Aedan.

Lijo Jose Pellissery, Mahesh Narayanan and Dileesh Pothen were the finalists in the best director category. The jury was extremely impressed by Lijo Jose Pellissery’s craft when he amazingly portrayed on screen the uncanny situations at a home where a death took place in the yet to be released movie Ee. Ma. Yau.

Pouly Valsan’s realistic portrayal of a widow in Ee. Ma. Yau and a good mother in Ottamuri Velicham earned her the award for the best supporting actress. It was the scene in which Alencier Le Lopez’s character prepares the FIR at the police station in the movie Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum which helped him bag the best supporting actor award.

Though veteran actor Sidhique and Vijay Menon were also considered for the award for their roles in Hey Jude, the jury was bowled over by Alencier’s nuanced performance in Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum. The jury noted that the talented actor was living as a police man in the critically acclaimed movie.

Alencier’s performance as a father and grandfather in few other films too helped him win the award. Vijay Menon got special mention from the jury.

Bhayanakam said the story of Kuttanadu during the time of the Second World War and senior musician MK Arjunan won the award for the best music director for composing some amazing songs which clearly reflected the era portrayed in the movie. The naadanpaatu and the songs composed by MK Arjunan had the flavor of the past and complemented the movie well.

The screenplays of the five movies which made it to the final round were excellent, noted the jury. Sajeev Pazhoor who developed a simple theme of a chain robbery into a well crated screenplay rightfully earned the award for the best screen play for the super hit movie Thondimuthalum Drikskshiyum.

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Malayala Manorama. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert