Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Sunday March 24 2019 01:37 AM IST

Fahadh, Parvathy best actors at CPC Awards, KG George honored

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

Fahadh, Parvathy best actors at CPC Awards, KG George honored With over 1 lakh followers, the Cinema Paradiso Club has been an active platform on the social media for movie lovers

Popular Facebook group Cinema Paradiso Club (CPC), which has emerged a platform for constructive discussions and debates on films, has distributed its film awards for the year 2017. At a function attended by the winners and movie buffs, at the IMA Hall at Kaloor, legendary Malayalam filmmaker K G George was honored with the CPC special honorary award.

Dileesh Pothen’s 'Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum' won the CPC award for the best film. The cast and crew of the film, including director Dileesh Pothen, Syam Pushkaran, Fahadh Faasil, Alencier, Unnimaya Prasad and co-director Roy, accepted the award from Maneesh Narayanan, who represented the jury of the CPC, and filmmaker Mithun Manuel Thomas. Fahadh Faasil was given away the prize for the best actor (male) for his performance in the same film.


Parvathy, who won the award for best actor (female) thanked the audience and the followers of the CPC through a video message as the actress was abroad, busy with the filming of an upcoming movie. She was chosen for the award for her brilliant portrayal of Sameera, the lead character in 'Take Off', directed by Mahesh Narayan.

The event was a wonderful gathering of generations of filmmakers and artists. K G George was adorned with a ‘Ponnada’ jointly by veteran filmmakers Kamal, Siby Malayil and Sathyan Anthikad and by the younger lot, including Lijo Jose Pellissery, Dileesh Pothen, Mithun Manuel Thomas, Sreebala K Menon, Basil Joseph and Sunil Ibrahim. Accepting the award, the legendary director thanked the CPC community in an emotional speech.


Fahadh Faasil said that he would proudly display the CPC memento for everyone to see at his home where he usually doesn’t exhibit any shields or awards. Director Lijo Jose Pellissery, who won the award for the best director for his super hit film 'Angamaly Diaries', said that the CPC awards were the most honest award ever given in India. Ace filmmaker Siby Malayil presented the best screenplay award to Sajeev Pazhoor and the best dialogs award to Shyam Pushkaran for 'Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum'. Composer Rex Vijayan won the award for best music for his soulful compositions in the movies 'Parava' and 'Mayanadhi'. Alencier Ley Lopez accepted the award for best character artist from actor Aju Varghese.

Veteran filmmaker Kamal said that the CPC began a revolutionary trend in film appreciation when it selected Vinayakan as the best actor last year. He added that the CPC honors would definitely be a model and inspiration for the other awards as well.

In 2017, the CPC had challenged all the stereotypes of the starry award nights by selecting Vinayakan as the best actor for the critically acclaimed movie 'Kammatipadam'.

Director Basil Joseph presented the award to Kiran Das who won the best editor trophy for 'Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum'. Krishna Padmakumar won the award for best character artist (female) for her performance in 'Rakshadhikari Baiju Oppu'.


The function was graced by artists like Bijibal, Aju Varghese, Nazriya, Antony Varghese, Rajisha Vijayan and Govind Menon. The awards were distributed in the presence of more than 1,000 spectators who were also members of the Cinema Paradiso Club.

With over 1 lakh followers, the CPC has been an active platform on the social media for movie lovers to participate in constructive debates and discourses on cinema, for the past five years. The award winners were selected by open voting by the members of the group and also a judging panel comprising efficient jury members.

'8 ½ Intercuts – Life and Films of K G George', a documentary film on the incredible life and career of the filmmaker directed by Lijin Jose, was screened at the event.

Winners' list:

Best Film - Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Director – Lijo Jose Pellissery (Angamaly Diaries)

Best Actor – Fahadh Faasil (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)

Best Actress – Parvathy (Take Off)

Best Character Actor – Alencier Ley Lopez (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)

Best Character Actress – Krishna Padmakumar (Rakshadhikari Baiju Oppu)

Best Cinematography – Gireesh Gangadharan (Angamaly Diaries) and Rajeev Ravi (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)

Best Screenplay – Sajeev Pazhoor (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)

Best Dialogs – Syam Pushkaran (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Music – Rex Vijayan (Mayanadhi, Parava)

Best Editing – Kiran Das (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Malayala Manorama. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert