Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Thursday December 14 2017 07:36 PM IST

God save my country from anarchy, says actor Vishal

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

God save my country from anarchy, says actor Vishal Vishal captures a selfie with his fans. File photo

Chennai: Actor Vishal Krishna, whose nomination papers to contest in the December 21, 2017 by-election to the Radhakrishnan Nagar assembly constituency were rejected, prays to the Almighty to save India.

In a tweet on Thursday, Vishal, as he is popularly known, said: "Still awaiting Democracy to lift its head up again..."

"God save my beloved country from this anarchy!!"

On Wednesday, he met chief electoral officer of Tamil Nadu Rajesh Lakhoni and submitted a petition to review his nomination papers filed for the by-election.

But the returning officer rejected Vishal's nomination papers, saying the signatures of two proposers were forged.

Vishal also tweeted to president Ramnath Kovind and prime minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday and brought his plight to their notice.

In his tweet, the actor said: "To the people, I look upto, Hon @narendramodi & Hon @rashtrapatibhvn I am Vishal, I hope u r aware of wats happening in the RK Nagar Election process in Chennai. My nomination was accepted & later rejected. Totally unfair. I bring this to your notice & I hope justice prevails."

He also tweeted: "5th Dec 2016, Amma died, 5th Dec, 2017, Democracy died... RIPDemocracy."

In Tamil Nadu, late chief minister J Jayalalithaa is referred to as Amma.

The actor said he was also consulting legal experts.

He said the rejection of his nomination was pre-planned and the two proposers (Sumathi and Deepan) were threatened.

Meanwhile, the election commission has said a total of 59 candidates were finally left in the fray for the by-election.

A total of 145 persons had filed their nomination papers, of that 72 nominations have been accepted and 73 rejected. Later, 13 candidates withdrew from the electoral race.

The major contest will be between the ruling AIADMK (E Madhusudhanan), DMK (N Marudhu Ganesh) and the sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran, now contesting as an Independent candidate.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded K Nagarajan as its candidate.

The Radhakrishnan Nagar seat fell vacant following the death of Jayalalithaa on December 5, 2016.

Read more: Latest national news | Mani Shankar Aiyar apologizes for 'neech aadmi' remark against Modi

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Malayala Manorama. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert